Who are we?

Entrance to Walvis Bay port

The Erongo Regional Council was established in terms of the Section 2(1) of the Regional Councils Act, 1992 (Act 22 of 1992). The Erongo Regional Council (ERC) is further guided by a Decentralisation Policy adopted by National Assembly of the Republic of Namibia in 1997 (GRN) 1997a, 1998b).

This policy brought about establishment of government structures at regional, constituency and local levels of government. The primary object is to bring government closer to the people but most importantly to implement or promote processes and mechanisms that enable citizen to take part in the affairs of the sub-national government.

 The Decentralisation Policy describes the objectives of Decentralisation as follows:

1.   To extend, enhance and guarantee participatory democracy;

2.  To ensure and safeguard rapid sustainable development;

3.  To transfer power to the regional councils and local authorities based on national ideas and values; and

4.  To improve capacity of regional and local government councils to plan, implement, manage and monitor delivery of services for their constituents.

 By transferring political, administrative, legislative, financial and planning authority to regional levels, government aims to promote participatory democracy by empowering the local population to make their own decisions and determine their own destiny.

 The Policy (GRN 1998b: 35 -36) identified a number of functions for decentralization, which include:

 1.    Community development and early childhood development,

2.    Administration of settlement areas,

3.    Rural water development and management,

4.    Management and control of communal lands,

5.    Primary health care,

6.    Pre-primary education,

7.    Conservation,

8.    Forest development and management,

9.    Physical and economic planning,

10. Emergency, and

11. Resettlement, rehabilitation and housing.

 The Ministry of Regional and Local Government, Housing and Rural Development has the role of coordinating and spearheading the decentralization process, with its Directorate for Decentralisation Coordination entrusted with the effective coordination and management of the process.

 With elections in November 2010 an amendment to the Regional Councils Act in Parliament meant that the term of office of regional councillors was reduced from six to five years and office terms of regional councillors serving on Councils’ management committees were reduced from three years to two and a half years.

 Regional Governors were to be appointed by the President and not elected by the regional councillors any more.

 The ERC is therefore mandated to plan and develop the region in a sustainable manner for the benefit of its inhabitants by establishing, managing and controlling of settlement areas focusing on core services.

 The ERC is thus responsible for an area of 63,586 km2, about 7,7 per cent of the total area of Namibia of 823,680 km2.

 Its about 140 000 inhabitants represent the cultural diversity of Namibia and also showcases its rich history and culture.

At the head of the ERC is the Governor, Honourable Cleophas Mutjavikua, appointed by the President of the Republic of Namibia, His Excellency Hifikepunye Pohamba.

The Erongo Region is divided into seven political Constituencies that are represented by Councillours on the ERC. The Constituencies are: Walvis Bay Urban, Walvis Bay Rural, Swakopmund, Arandis, Dâures, Omaruru and Karibib.

The ERC’s Strategic Plan 2017/18-2021/22 period is guiding its planning and development initiatives (Please see the relevant information button).